Talladega County Schools Secretary Miranda Parton Named 2019 Secretary of the Year

Dec 5, 2019 by Alyssa Godfrey, Director of Communications & Technology
SOY2019 Miranda Parton


TALLADEGA, ALA., DEC. 4, 2019:  The Council for Leaders in Alabama Schools (CLAS) and Simbli by eBOARDsolutions, the Secretary of the Year award sponsor, are proud to announce the selection of Ms. Miranda Parton as the 2019 Secretary of the Year. Ms. Parton was selected from among eight district finalists across the state of Alabama.

Parton is the executive secretary/office manager for the Talladega County School System.  She serves as the administrative assistant to the superintendent, secretary of the board of education, and liaison for the seventeen schools within the district.

Talladega County Schools Superintendent Dr. Suzanne Lacey, who nominated Parton said, “There are many demands placed on the superintendent. I credit Miranda Parton with my success during my twelve years as superintendent. I am fortunate to have her working alongside me and being my right hand.”

In addition to her many duties at the central office, she is a lifelong resident of Talladega and is involved with many community organizations. Through her work and dedication in all endeavors, Parton has developed the reputation of being dependable, resilient, thoughtful, and trustworthy.

“Ms. Parton’s selection as the Alabama Secretary of the Year is evidenced by her exemplary demonstration of leadership, commitment, dependability, patience, and a positive attitude,” stated CLAS Executive Director Dr. Vic Wilson. “Congratulations to all our district finalists as well as each secretary nominated. Their roles are truly invaluable to our schools, systems, students, parents, and stakeholders throughout the education.”

Nominations for this award were submitted by CLAS members in each State Board of Education District. Each finalist is held in high regard by his/her employer as well as by co-workers and community.  District finalists are listed below:

  • Debbie Rigby, Bay Minette Elementary, Baldwin County (District 1)
  • Terri Noles, Wadley High, Randolph County (District 2)
  • Miranda Parton, Talladega County (District 3)
  • Sherry Robertson, Westlawn Middle, Tuscaloosa City (District 4)
  • Marilyn Miller, Perry County (District 5)
  • Rachel King, West Decatur Elementary, Decatur City (District 6)
  • Leigh Vandiver, Sheffield High School, Sheffield City (District 7)
  • Jessica Barlow, Sparkman Middle, Madison County (District 8)


Photo: Miranda Parton, accepts the 2019 Secretary of the Year award from representatives from CLAS, Simbli by eBOARDsolutions, and representatives from Talladega County Schools. [download photo]

About the Award: 2019 is the second year the Secretary of the Year award has been presented. The award is given to one Alabama school secretary or administrative assistant who supports the vision, mission, goals, and beliefs of the school system; promotes goodwill among co-workers; provides excellent customer service, demonstrates a good work ethic; performs work duties as assigned in an exemplary manner, and participates in professional learning in order to improve work knowledge and skills. The award is given at the annual Secretaries Conference Luncheon held in December. 

About CLAS: CLAS, the Council for Leaders in Alabama Schools was founded in 1969 by a small group of school leaders to provide targeted professional learning and support for Alabama’s public school administrators.  CLAS now serves eleven affiliates representing each type of public school/school system leader.  CLAS provides the framework to connect dedicated school administrators and other successful leaders with a network for professional growth and support.  CLAS is the premier professional learning provider for administrators in public schools in the state of Alabama.