Alabama's 2022 District National Distinguished Principals Chosen

Nine district nominees for Alabama’s NAESP National Distinguished Principal have been named by the Alabama Association of Elementary School Administrators (AAESA).
Dec 1, 2021 by Alyssa Godfrey, Director of Communications

Orange Beach, Ala – November 16, 2021: Nine district nominees for Alabama’s NAESP National Distinguished Principal have been named. These principals were recognized at the Alabama Association of Elementary School Administrators (AAESA) annual conference during an awards ceremony.

Each AAESA district selects one nominee for Alabama’s NAESP National Distinguished Principal. In January, a committee of judges will review their applications and select three finalists. Each finalist will host a site visit of judges. Alabama’s NAESP National Distinguished Principal will be named in early spring.

The Alabama National Distinguished Principal program is the state recognition program of the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) National Distinguished Principal program. The Alabama program is sponsored by AAESA and Classworks.

The 2022 district Alabama National Distinguished Principals are:

District I

Michael South, WC Handy Early Childhood Development Center, Florence City

District II

Christy Amick, Chickasaw Elementary School, Chickasaw City

District III

Lucile Prewitt, Oakdale Elementary School, Tuscaloosa City

District IV

Alice Turney, Riverchase Elementary School, Hoover City

District V

Brigett Stewart, Piedmont Elementary School, Piedmont City

District VII

Mary Salmon, Southview Primary School, Opelika City

District VIII

Michelle Moore, Foley Elementary School, Baldwin County

District IX

Christie Mitten, Holly Hill Elementary School, Enterprise City

District X

Bradley Scott, Blossomwood Elementary School, Huntsville City


For more information, please contact Alyssa Godfrey, CLAS Director of Communications, at 334.265.3610 or at

# # #

About the NAESP National Distinguished Principal Award: Each year, NDPs represent Pre-K through grade 8 public schools from across the country as well as principals in U.S. private schools and those from the United States Departments of Defense Office of Educational Activity and the United States Department of State Office of Overseas Schools. Public school elementary and middle-level principals are nominated by peers in their state, and final selections are made by committees appointed by each of NAESP’s state affiliate offices. Honorees from private schools and overseas schools are selected by special committees.

About AAESA and CLAS: The Alabama Association of Elementary School Administrators is an affiliate association of the Council for Leaders in Alabama Schools (CLAS).  CLAS is an umbrella association that serves twelve different affiliates comprised of Alabama’s public school administrators.  CLAS is dedicated to providing the framework to connect dedicated school administrators and other successful leaders with a network for professional growth and support.  For more information, visit

About Classworks: Classworks is K-8 digital instruction in math, reading, and language arts proven to help students become critical thinkers and independent learners. Classworks provides individualized instruction for every student based on their assessment results to close learning gaps. Classworks also delivers on-grade level, rigorous lessons for the classroom that helps teachers teach through technology. Classworks results-driven, engaging educational solutions are built upon strong instructional pedagogy and technological innovation to improve teaching and learning.

Access Photo Gallery