Dr. Patrick Chappell Receives CLAS Leadership Award

Call Us : 1-800-239-3616


Dr. Patrick Chappell Receives 2015 CLAS Leadership Award

PatrickChappelLeaderAwardHomewood, Ala.:  Dr. Patrick Chappell, director of instructional support for the Homewood City School System, was chosen as the 2015 CLAS Leadership Award winner sponsored by the Horace Mann Companies. During the 2015 CLAS Annual Summer Convention, held at the Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center, Chappell was recognized as a nominee for this award.  During the Awards Luncheon on Tuesday, June 16, 2015 he was announced as the winner and presented with a plaque by 2014-2015 CLAS President Dennis Duncan. Jackie McGrail, a representative of the Horace Mann Companies was on-hand to present Chappell with a $1,000 check.  The Horace Mann Companies sponsor this award annually.

Out of eleven very worthy nominees for this honor, Chappell best exemplified the leadership characteristics the award is intended to recognize.  His nomination was made by the Alabama Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (AASCD).  This prestigious award has been given since 1980 by the CLAS board of directors to a CLAS member who is proven to be an exemplary leader not only in the local school system, but also in their affiliated membership organization.

Chappell currently serves on the AASCD board, the CLAS board of directors, and as a CLAS membership coordinator for the Homewood City School System. Dr. Chappell provided AASCD with leadership that resulted in tremendous growth in membership and the improvement of the organization’s mission. He was instrumental in hiring AASCD’s first paid staff member, Executive Director Dr. Jane Cobia.  Chappell also strengthened AASCD’s relationship with CLAS as well as laid the groundwork for the organization to focus more intently on its mission – being a leading voice in Alabama for sound curriculum and instruction.

“Dr. Patrick Chappell epitomizes servant leadership for CLAS and the Alabama Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development,” states CLAS Executive Director Dr. L. Earl Franks, CAE.  “His dedication to CLAS is exemplified by his passion and belief that education is for all – students, teachers, and administrators.  Being selected for this prestigious award affirms Dr. Chappell’s contributions to our association, the school leader profession, and public education.”  

2015 Nominees

Dr. Tamala Maddox, AAMSP
Holly Resmondo, ACTA
Dr. Patrick Chappell, AASCD
Linda McGhee, AASBO
Lynne Hice, AASSP
Dr. Dee Fowler, SSA
Lynn Sharp, ALA-CASE
Dr. Irma Townsend, AASPA
Myra Stansell, ACND
Dorann Tanner, AAPASS
Debbie Deavors, AAESA